Medical & Dental Council Members Appointed

BVI Platinum News | February 09, 2019 8:17 am AST | 0 Comment
BVI Platinum News
February 09, 2019 8:17 am AST | 0 Comment
Photo Credit: File

(Photo Credit: File)

The Cabinet of the Virgin Islands has approved the appointment and re-appointment of members to serve on the Medical and Dental Council, for a period of three years.


Government in a press release stated that the appointments took effect on August 10, 2018.

Dr. Paula Nicole Trotman-Hastings and Dr. Harlan Vanterpool were re-appointed, while Mrs. Chantal Flax-Ward has been newly appointed.

Other members include Dr. Garfield Wayne Boyd Neita; Dr. Dominik Frazer; Mr. Clyde Lettsome; and ex-officio member, Chief Medical Officer Dr. Irad Potter.

The Medical and Dental Council was established under the Medical Act, 2000 for the registration and regulation of medical and dental professionals working in the Territory. The registration process ensures that the credentials presented are genuine and that individuals meet the requirements necessary to practice in the Virgin Islands.

The council is responsible for issuing certificates of registration to enable physicians to practice medicine, monitoring and maintaining standards of practice, investigating complaints against physicians on behalf of the public, and conducting disciplinary proceedings into allegations of professional misconduct or incompetence of physicians.

Copyright 2019 by Virgin Islands Platinum News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
Reader Opinion
Please note that the opinions posted are the opinions of its author and does not reflect the views of the management, staff, parent company or sponsors of Virgin Islands Platinum News.
0 Comment
All fields required!
No opinions yet. Be the first to post an opinion.
Platinum Comments Plugin